Digital and scientific culture

"True science teaches, above all, to doubt and to be ignorant"

Miguel de Unamuno

SCIENTIFIC CULTURE

Scientific culture is at the heart of the efim project pedagogy. It allows the exercise of critical thinking through a so-called experimental approach. The pupil learns to question dogmatic assertions and to give himself the means to compare contradictory information. He becomes an actor in society because scientific culture is also education for citizenship.


DIGITAL CULTURE

The digital culture revisits our traditions with a more agile approach. It reconsiders the issues from the angle of new methodologies and new codes, including the Design Thinking where empathy, ideation and prototyping are the preferred approaches to understand the issues and define solutions.

The digital culture favors trial and error, reiteration, group thinking, decision making and quick action. It is deeply collaborative, borderless, adaptive and marked by instantaneity.

Our project pedagogy uses new digital technologies and the new approaches that result from them in order to offer children the key skills to position themselves as enlightened and agile actors in their future world.


TECHNOLOGIES

Technologies, including digital technology, are widely integrated into our teaching methods and used to the extent that they make it possible to address the teaching objectives.

We favor the approach “Potentiating technology” (technology-enabled) capable of redefining learning opportunities rather than enclaving “technology-driven” technology.


IN PRACTICE

  • In cycle 1, we made the choice to use digital sparingly (we follow Serge Tisseron's recommendations) because we favor fundamental learning at this point in the child's development.
  • From cycle 2, each class has the latest generation interactive screens to learn how to use technology within the framework of educational objectives (searching for, decoding and organizing information) and relational (learning to work in collaborative mode within the framework of 'a project pedagogy). Students also have an individual Microsoft 365 account provided by the school allowing them to use the Office suite as well as many other collaboration services.
  • Robotics from cycle 2 to learn to code and understand the computer logic behind everyday technological objects. It is also an activity that allows you to develop a logical-mathematical mind.
  • Cross-disciplinary projects associating science with other subjects (math, history, writing, drawing, etc.) and skills (observation, cooperation, sensorimotor, etc.) which favor experiential pedagogy: for example archeology in cycles 2 and 3, l study of plants and the observation of nature from cycle 1.
  • In all cycles, we give a large place to project pedagogy and make children aware of agile approaches as well as design thinking. We associate as much as possible on certain projects with other classes of partner schools to work on projects with international collaboration.
en_GBEnglish

Culture numérique et scientifique

« La véritable science enseigne, par-dessus tout, à douter et à être ignorant »

Miguel de Unamuno

CULTURE SCIENTIFIQUE

La culture scientifique est au cœur de la pédagogie de projet de l’efim. Elle permet l’exercice d’une pensée critique au fil d’une démarche dite expérimentale. L’élève apprend à mettre en doute des affirmations dogmatiques et à se donner les moyens de comparer des informations contradictoires. Il devient un acteur de la société car la culture scientifique est aussi une éducation à la citoyenneté.


CULTURE NUMÉRIQUE

La culture numérique revisite nos traditions avec une approche plus agile. Elle reconsidère les problématiques sous l’angle de nouvelles méthodologies et de nouveaux codes, dont notamment le Design Thinking où l’empathie, l’idéation et le prototypage sont les approches privilégiées pour comprendre les problématiques et définir des solutions.

La culture numérique privilégie le tâtonnement, l’essai-erreur, la réitération, la réflexion en groupe, la prise de décision et l’action rapide. Elle est profondément collaborative, sans frontière, adaptative et marquée par l’instantanéité.

Notre pédagogie de projet utilise les nouvelles technologies numériques et les nouvelles approches qui en découlent afin d’offrir aux enfants les compétences clés pour se positionner en acteurs éclairés et agiles dans leur futur monde.


TECHNOLOGIES

Les technologies, dont le numérique, sont largement intégrées au sein de notre pédagogie et utilisées dans la mesure où elles permettent d’adresser les objectifs pédagogiques.

Nous privilégions l’approche “technologie potentialisante” (technology-enabled) capable de redéfinir des opportunités d’apprentissages plutôt qu’une “technologie dirigiste” (technology-driven) enclavante.


EN PRATIQUE

  • En cycle 1, nous avons fait le choix d’utiliser numérique avec parcimonie (nous suivons les recommandations de Serge Tisseron) car nous privilégions les apprentissages fondamentaux à ce moment du développement de l’enfant.
  • Dès le cycle 2, chaque classe dispose d’écrans interactifs de dernière génération pour apprendre à manier la technologie dans le cadre d’objectifs pédagogiques (chercher, décoder et organiser les informations) et relationnels (apprendre à travailler en mode collaboratif dans le cadre d’une pédagogie de projet). Les élèves disposent également d’un compte Microsoft 365 individuel fourni par l’école leur permettant d’utiliser la suite bureautique Office ainsi que de nombreux autres services de collaboration.
  • De la robotique dès le cycle 2 pour apprendre à coder et à comprendre la logique informatique derrière les objets technologiques du quotidien. C’est aussi une activité qui permet de développer un esprit logico-mathématique.
  • Des projets transverses associant les sciences à d’autres matières (maths, histoire, écriture, dessin…) et compétences (observation, coopération, sensorimotricité…) qui privilégient une pédagogie expérientielle : par exemple de l’archéologie en cycle 2 et 3, l’étude des plantes et l’observation de la nature dès le cycle 1.
  • Dans tous les cycles, nous donnons une large place à la pédagogie de projet et sensibilisons les enfants aux approches agiles ainsi qu’au design thinking. Nous nous associons autant que possible sur certains projets à d’autres classes d’écoles partenaires pour travailler sur des projets à collaboration internationale.
fr_FRFrench